Cypress School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Board Members

Lydia Sondhi photo
Lydia Sondhi, Ph.D.
Term of Office:  2022 - 2026
Trustee Area D
Board Member Since December 2014
Brian Nakamura photo
Brian Nakamura
Vice President
Term of Office:  2021 - 2024
Trustee Area A
Board Member Since July 2010
Sandra Lee photo
Sandra Lee
Term of Office:  2022 - 2026
Trustee Area C
Board Member Since December 2014
Candi Kern photo
Candi Kern
Term of Office:  2021 - 2024
Trustee Area E
Board Member Since July 2012
Troy Tanaka photo
Troy Tanaka
Term of Office:  2022 - 2026
Trustee Area B
Board Member Since December 2022

Role and Responsibilities of the Board*

The role of the school board is to ensure that school districts are responsive to the values, beliefs, and priorities of their communities.

Boards fulfill this role by performing five major responsibilities:

  • Setting direction
  • Establishing an effective and efficient structure
  • Providing support
  • Ensuring accountability
  • Providing community leadership as advocates for children, the school district and public schools

These five responsibilities represent core functions that are so fundamental to a school system’s accountability to the public that they can only be performed by an elected governing body. Authority is granted to the board as a whole, not each member individually. Therefore, board members fulfill these responsibilities by working together as a governance team with the superintendent to make decisions that will best serve all the students in the community.  

*California School Boards Association